Summer School Holidays

On this page an overview of the Australian summer school holidays by state for the coming years. The summer school holidays are in the period December - January. These are the longest Australian school holidays. During the summer holidays it's extremely hot in most parts of Australia. It is the busiest period at tourism destinations.

2017 Summer Holidays

Below all summer school holidays 2017, per state.

Summer School Holidays 2017 - All dates subject to errors and changes
Summer School HolidaysStart DateEnd DateWeek
Queensland (QLD) Monday 11-12-2017 Friday 19-01-2018 50-3
REMARK: Year 10 & 11 ends: Friday 24 November.
Year 12 ends: Friday 17 November.
Northern Territory (NT) Friday 15-12-2017 Monday 29-01-2018 51-4
REMARK: Applies to urban schools
Western Australia (WA) Friday 15-12-2017 Tuesday 30-01-2018 51-4
Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Monday 18-12-2017 Monday 05-02-2018 51-5
REMARK: New students start school on the Monday of Term 1, with all continuing students returning on Tuesday.
New South Wales (NSW) Monday 18-12-2017 Monday 29-01-2018 51-4
REMARK: Eastern division
New South Wales (NSW) Monday 18-12-2017 Monday 05-02-2018 51-5
REMARK: Western division
Northern Territory (NT) Monday 18-12-2017 Monday 29-01-2018 51-4
REMARK: Applies to remote schools
South Australia (SA) Monday 18-12-2017 Friday 26-01-2018 51-4
Tasmania (TAS) Monday 18-12-2017 Tuesday 06-02-2018 52-5*
REMARK: Refer to individual college for student finish date.
Victoria (VIC) Monday 25-12-2017 Tuesday 30-01-2018 51-4



 

2018 Summer Holidays

Below all summer school holidays 2018, per state.

Summer School Holidays 2018 - All dates subject to errors and changes
Summer School HolidaysStart DateEnd DateWeek
Northern Territory (NT) Friday 14-12-2018 Friday 25-01-2019 51-4
REMARK: Applies to urban schools
Western Australia (WA) Friday 14-12-2018 Tuesday 01-02-2019 51-4
Northern Territory (NT) Monday 17-12-2018 Friday 25-01-2019 51-4
REMARK: Applies to remote schools
Queensland (QLD) Monday 17-12-2018 Monday 28-01-2019 51-4
REMARK: Year 10 & 11 ends: Friday 30 November.
Year 12 ends: Friday 16 November.
South Australia (SA) Monday 17-12-2018 Monday 28-01-2019 51-4
Tasmania (TAS) Monday 17-12-2018 Tuesday 05-02-2019 52-5
REMARK: Refer to individual college for student finish date.
Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Monday 24-12-2018 Monday 04-02-2019 52-5
REMARK: New students start school on the Monday of Term 1, with all continuing students returning on Tuesday.
New South Wales (NSW) Monday 24-12-2018 Tuesday 29-01-2019 51-4
REMARK: Eastern division
New South Wales (NSW) Monday 24-12-2018 Tuesday 05-02-2019 51-5
REMARK: Western division
Victoria (VIC) Monday 24-12-2018 Monday 28-01-2019 51-4